Home » Radical SELF Yoga » Patanjali – The 8 Limbs of Yoga

Patanjali – The 8 Limbs of Yoga

Classical yoga as defined by Patanjali is an eight stages process of spiritual development (the eight limbs of yoga).

The first two stages are ethical disciplines (Yamas and Niyamas).

Yama: Self Restraint/Moral Discipline

Ahimsa (Non-violence)
Satya (Truthfulness)
Asteya (Non-stealing)
Brahmacharya (Spiritual Conduct)
Aparigraha (Non-greed)

Niyama: Observances

Saucha (Purity)
Santosha (Contentment)
Tapas (Austerity)
Svadhyaya (Study of The Self/Texts)
Isvara Pranidhana (Dedication)

Then come postures (Asanas) and breathing exercises (Pranayama).

The last four limbs are meditative stages: control of the senses (Prathyara), concentration (Dharana), meditation (Dhyana) and enlightenment (Samadhi).